Florida Adjuster Licensing For Non-Residents – A Guide to Licensing

The Florida All Lines adjuster license is the highest level of licensing for the claims profession in the state of Florida. The non-resident FL license is available to residents of other states under certain conditions.

In all cases, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be either a U. S. citizen or a resident legal alien authorized to work in the United States. Upon application for the license, the applicant will be required to submit fingerprints for a background check. A felony conviction or other ‘crimes’ of moral turpitude will normally disqualify the applicant for licensing.

If the applicant is from a state that requires adjusters to be licensed, that applicant must hold the home state’s license before FL will grant a non-resident license. If the applicant is from a state that does not require adjusters to be licensed, that person is eligible to apply for the FL All Lines license.

In order to qualify for the license, an individual must either take and pass the state examination, or qualify through designation, such as the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation offered by the University of Central FL/Florida Insurance University. The ACA Designation will excuse the applicant from the necessity of taking the state exam.

The Florida license is sought by those in the insurance industry because of its reciprocity with other states. In other words, once an individual holds the FL license, that same individual will be eligible for licensing in other states without further qualification, other than filing an application. Texas is one of Florida’s reciprocal states and between Texas and Florida’s reciprocity, an applicant will be eligible for licensing throughout the country with very few exceptions. A list of Florida’s reciprocal states includes:

Arkansas – Independent only
Connecticut – Independent, Public, and Company
Georgia – Independent and Public adjusters only. (Does not require licensure for Company adjusters)
Illinois – Public only
Kentucky – Independent, Public, and Company
Michigan – Public and Independent
Minnesota – Independent and Public
Mississippi – Independent only
New Mexico – Independent and Company
North Carolina – Independent, Public, and Company
Oklahoma – Independent, Public, and Company
Oregon – Public and Independent
Pennsylvania – Public
South Carolina – Independent and Company only
Texas – Independent and Company
West Virginia – Independent, Public, and Company

For more information on licensing see the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation information at the University of Central Florida’s website or call: (407) 927-1235. Application for the license is online at the following web address:

Leave a Reply